The Rome-Floyd County Commission on Children and Youth was created in 1989 by the Georgia General Assembly (House Bill 789).  Below are excerpts from the legislation:

  • to study the needs, issues, and problems in Rome-Floyd County related to children and youth
  • to gather data on issues
  • to identify specific problems and areas of concern
  • to propose solutions to problems and way of ameliorating concerns
  • to plan and implement programs to effectuate solutions
  • to secure and expend funds for programs
  • to identify and coordinate existing resources for dealing with problems of children and youth
  • to publicize and disseminate information relating to issues of children and youth

                           President, Board of Directors

1990  Dr. Darrell Dean                            2003  Bill O’Dell

1991  Dr. Darrell Dean                            2004  Sonya Castenada/Anne Rigas

1992  Dr. Dean/Judge Pape                    2005  Anne Rigas

1993  Judge Timothy Pape                     2006  Sue Broome

1994  Judge Timothy Pape                     2007  Esther Vaughn

1995  Linda Dean                                  2008  Ryan Earnest

1996  Linda Dean                                  2009  Dr. George Pullen

1997  Dr. Gayland Cooper                      2010  Suzanne Clonts

1998  Don Lovell                                    2011  Linda Dean

1999  Judge Timothy Pape                     2012  Larry Alford

2000  Ryan Earnest                               2013  Ouida Sams

2001  Jim Burton                                   2014  William James

2002  Rosemarie Newman

                             Executive Directors

Betsy Storey                                        Cheryl Legette

Jackie Harrison                                     Barbara Earle

Sue Hitchcock                                      Dr. Carol Willis